Wake Forest 

Christian Church

(Disciples of Christ)​

Be content, be content. We are the Body of Christ. We have found Him, He has found us. We are in Him, He is in us. There is nothing further to look for, except for the deepening of this life we already possess. Be content.
(Thomas Merton)


​Minister: Dr. J. David Griffin

Wake Forest Christian Church called Dr. J David Griffin as our minister in November 2016. David comes to us as one seasoned in church life, and also schooled in the biblical and spiritual disciplines. David believes that the church is the Body of Christ, and being that Body, the church is sacred. The church becomes the expression of the living Christ; the church is love incarnated.

David is called to help us discern what being this Body means as a church community, as a church family. He believes that all are welcome, that all actually includes all – those who feel hurt, left out, angry, unacceptable, and unloved. Love is not always easy, but love was never defined as a feeling that is a comfortable feeling nor is love a passive process. Love is a verb, as are church, forgiveness, and compassion.

David and his wife, Jane, have four children and eight grandchildren.  Jane, a retired public school teacher, enjoys reading, puzzles, yard sales, and great deals.

A native of Raleigh, David graduated from Broughton High School. He earned a B.A. from Barton College (Atlantic Christian College); M.Div. and D.Min. degrees from Brite Divinity School of Texas Christian University, and did post-doctorate work at the C. G. Jung Institute, Zurich, Switzerland.

His email is jdavidgriffin24@gmail.com.

Our Church Leadership

The Admin Council 

Leon Whitehead - Chair

Kathy Houlihan - Vice Chair

Tanya Easterly - Secretary

Phil Jenny - Building and Grounds; Former Chair

Gladys Hughston - Member-at-Large

Jennifer Friedley - Treasurer

Janice Roberts - Financial Secretary

Deacons and Elders


Carl Breazeale

Chuck Rice

Nancy Watson

Emily Currin

Jim Houlihan


Patti McAnally 

Carol Hansen

Rodney Hudson

Vivian Edwards
Leslie Rice

Administrative Council:

Leon Whitehead

Tanya Easterly

Lori Hubbard

Jennifer Friedley

Janice Roberts

Kathy Houlihan

Gladys Hughston